top of page

The Movement, Bham Sun D Got Next!


I met Sun D at a Spoken Word event, fall 2018. I was drawn to his message because his words spoke of Jesus, Eternity, Salvation, and Christianity. Secretly, I am always relieved when he walks in the venue. I know, he will speak from his soul and make it easier for me to do the same. This amazing rapper, poet, artist answered a few questions for me about "The Movement" which are captured below. He also shared videos and pictures that capture a small portion of his craft.


Ladies & Gentlemen Meet SunD:


My name is Larry G. Williams, Jr.  I perform under the name, Sun D, which is a play off of the word Sunday, which happens to be the Resurrection Day of the Lord, as well as a day that we symbolically enter into His Rest.  I'm originally from Goldsboro, NC and currently reside in Birmingham, AL, where I've lived for the past 23 years. I have been writing poetry and raps for well

over 30 years.  I have been performing on the spoken word circuit for roughly a three years.  Whether I come from an approach of bios (the study/situations of natural life), or zoe' (the quality of Spiritual lives in the Lord, which can produce natural recompense of what the world perceives as blessings), I do it to shine His Light, provoke thought and search for The Answer, which is Jesus Christ.  He not only has the answers, He IS the Answer.  In a world lacking hope, I try to use the gifts that he's given me to draw people to Him.



1. What is, and explain/describe your movement? 


Basically, my movement is based on Glorifying God, through His Son, Jesus Christ, through Rap & Spoken Word.  I deal with quality of life (Zoe') & real life issues (Bios), so even if what I express provokes you to ask a question, my hope is to be an Ambassador for Christ, to inform you that He IS the Answer.


2. How can your movement make a positive impact on society? 


The biggest surprise about my movement is that the younger generation make up the majority of my supporters (which range in range from 15-32 years of age on average).  Any time you can impact the younger generation, it can potentially change the course of events for not only the individuals reached in this current time, but also future generations coming behind them.  It only takes one seed to (if properly nurtured) grow into a tree bearing fruit with multiple seeds.


3. How do you plan to use your movement to influence the masses? 


I plan to Glorify God in my movement, so that doesn't mean performance, as it relates to Spoken Word & Rap in exclusivity, but also, to serve the community.  Sun D is short for SunDoulos (pronounced soon'-doo-los), which is actually Greek for fellow servant & also, one who with others serves (ministers to) a king.  We have to be excellent servants, if we want to be great leaders and there's no better way to lead, than to do it by example.  If the masses can focus more on the joys of serving, society can change comprehensively.  I'm using my movement to do my part.


Experience SunD Live Below:

Congratulations are in order. SunD is part of the trio who broke the Guinness World Record: "Rap group of 8 or less to free style more than 24 hours!


World Record Trio

Connect:

Bookings:

  • Email: jointheir71@gmail.com

Nichole Shirell copyrights reserved

Images: Larry Williams & AllGoBuddy

Video: Larry Williams

80 views0 comments
bottom of page