top of page

Art Community & Culture, Meet Kristin

Updated: Feb 6, 2021

Model, Photographer, Painter, Pottery Artist, Veteran, Corporate and now Entrepreneur. Kristin Ruleau, an incredibly talented motivator and encourager from Pensacola Florida takes time out of her busy schedule to share some of her world with Nichole Shirell's readers.

I met this beautiful young lady in August 2017. Words cannot express what her friendship means to me. She is more than a friend. She is my sister. I am thankful forever for her friendship. Read her interview and check out her work below. Be sure you connect w sister Kristin.

Tell us about your background. Who are you?

My mom was in the Navy so my family followed her from base to base. We lived in California, Puerto Rico, Hawaii, Iceland, and Florida. It wasn’t just my mom that served,

I come from a long line of veterans so it was only natural for me to join. I did photography in high school, college and in the military but I’ve experimented with various art forms. I grew up watching my mom make stained glass and quilts. Living in so many places exposed me to so many landscapes, from tropical to arid and everything in between. I loved finding the exotic flowers and plant life unique to wherever I was. Now I like to draw and paint the flowers and landscapes I’ve seen throughout my travels.

Where has life taken you since high school graduation?

I learned a lot of valuable lessons while waiting tables at Waffle House, one of which was that I didn’t want to wait tables my whole life. I left for the military in 2003 and hopped from Texas to Maryland and then on to Guam, Germany, Croatia, Iraq and several other places in between. I was a military photographer so I spent a lot of time creating photojournalistic work. After the military, I went to a local state college in FL and got to know the more artistic side of photography. I also learned a lot about creating drawings, paintings, ceramics, and multimedia art. I’m still in FL and try to keep practicing art as much as possible.

List degrees, awards, accolades.

Community College of the Air Force – Still Photography Degree

Pensacola State College – Associates of Applied Science Photography

What are your greatest accomplishments?

I have had photos featured on the front page of the European Stars and Stripes newspaper as well as images in various military websites, newspapers and magazines.

An image I captured of a great blue heron is on display at Pensacola International Airport.

What life lessons would you like to share with the youth?

Learn as much as you can about what you enjoy and follow your dreams. Don’t let other people dictate your future, make your own path. If you truly have a calling, follow it.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Taking more time to travel the US and see as much as I can. I’ve learned that I don’t need as much “stuff” in my life so I’m trying to pack lighter, downsize, reduce the amount I carry in my life. In 5 years I want to be using the money I’ve saved, from being more frugal and owning less, to allow myself more camping trips to explore and create. If you could change one thing about your past what would it be? Nothing. Everything I’ve experienced has molded and shaped me into whom I’ve become. Without those experiences, I would know things differently. Both the good and the bad have taught me lessons no one person ever could.

Name one thing you loved about High School and one you dislike.

Loved: Drama!!

Disliked: Driver’s Ed

Hobbies?

Painting, drawing, gardening, reading, creating hair flowers, photography, writing, and

musing in general.

What impact do you plan to make on the world?

I would like to reduce the amount of trash in the world and find new ways to recycle or re-purpose items.

The world is her muse. Check out some of her art work below. All art is available for purchase.

Photography by Kristin Ruleau
Click the Pottery images below for full view:
Paintings By Kristin Ruleau

Bookings:

Kristin.ruleau@gmail.com

Follow:

Instagram:

Nichole Shirell copyrights reserved

Images: Krinstin Ruleau

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page